And Now…Weekend Update, With Juno

7 Apr

   In which there is, of course, much spiritual acknowledgment, study, and devotion. Ok, this weekend should have been 1 hour longer. At least. Mainly because I was home, and was enjoying it. Non Hampshire Food is good (in this case). Plus I made a salad. A real salad. I spent friday trying to update the blue iMac, but the OS X disc hadn’t actually come in the mail, so there was only so much I could do. Our cats were all very cat-like: photogenic, lazy, playful, noisy, wild, funny, and Tigger brot a live mole into the house right in the middle of my filling out of important financial aid documents. This invoked much screams and pitious convocations from Rhea, who eventually brot a cloth, and liberated the rodent into the cold outdoors. I also tried to download Jesus Christ Superstar and DJ Shadow music, and was half successful. I found some of each, and learned some of the words to the song “Building Steam With a Grain of Salt.” (The ones that go “ohhhhh, ohh, ohh, oh, ohhhh, ohh, ohh,” etc.) Good stuff. Later on I found Jesus Christ Superstar in my brother’s CD collection and borrowed them. And as I’m sure this is all so fascinating to all of you, I will now stop relaying a point by point report of my doings at home, even if it is fascinating to you. Not that any of this was a point by point report.
   Greg came up late on sat and stayed over. We went to Spirited Away, which is awesome. All should see this movie. Twice.* Especially since it’s now in a bunch of mainstream theaters (winning an Acadamy Award is good for something.) And then I tried to download the Spirited Away soundtrack and was half successful. There was also, of course, as the weekend proceeded, much spiritual acknowledgment, study, and devotion. The End. (Except for the obligatory song quote).

*or perhaps The Neverending Story, Princess Mononoke, and then something by Dr. Seuss as a substitute.

Obligatory song quote:

”There I am in younger days: stargazing, painting picture perfect maps of how my life and love would be.
Not counting the unmarked paths of misdirection, my compass: faith in loves perfection, I missed a million miles of road I should have seen.
Meanwhile our friends we thought were so together left each other one by one in search of fairer weather.
And we sit here in our storm and drink a toast to the slim chance of love’s recovery.
Rain soaked and voice choked like silent screaming in a dream. I search for the absolute distinction.
Not content to bow and bend to the whims of culture that swoop like vultures eating us away. Eating us away.
Eating us away to our extinction.”

&nbsp ~Indigo Girls, Love’s Recovery

One Response to “And Now…Weekend Update, With Juno”

  1. nevaeh_sent April 7, 2003 at 9:44 am #

    Easton has Jesus Christ Super Star in his cd collection? i never would have guessed! Sounds like a great weekend, bro. wish i coulda been there too to enjoy salad and see my kitties 😉
    p.s. i woulda been freaking out just like rhea!

Leave a Reply

