Have You Tried Not Being A Mutant?

4 May

   Just taking a brief break from my (almost complete) final paper list (one more to go) to tell you all that you should go and see X-Men 2. Twice. At least. But you should see the first one first, in all of its mediocrity, because the sequel doesn’t pander to those who haven’t. The sequel is however, better in every way, and therefore makes the first one better. And don’t try and buy the soundtrack from the Apple Music Store, because sadly they don’t have it. And now, a random song lyric:

I guess I wasn’t the best one to ask.
Me myself with my face pressed up against love’s glass
To see the shiny toy I’ve been hoping for,
The one I never could afford.
The wide world spins and spits turmoil
and the nations toil for peace.
The pause of fear upon her chest
Only love can sooth that beast.
And my words are paper tigers
No match for the predator of pain inside her.
I said love will come to you
Hoping just because I spoke the words that they’re true.
If I offered up a crystal ball to look through
Where there’s now one there will be two

Dodging your memories a field of knives
I’m always on the outside looking in on others’ lives

And I wish her insight to battle love’s blindness
Strength from the milk of human kindness
Safe place for all the pieces that scatter
Learn to pretend there’s more than love that matters
~ Indigo Girls, Love will come to you

3 Responses to “Have You Tried Not Being A Mutant?”

  1. peregrineflcn May 4, 2003 at 9:39 pm #

    hmmmmm.

  2. kirawen May 5, 2003 at 10:44 pm #

    It’s a shame such great lyrics deal with such a difficult issue. They’re right in saying that words are paper tigers, no match for inner beasts of pain. I only wish words were more effective on the heart and soul, but at least they bring a little comfort and peace (sometimes through tears, even), if only for a short time. Meow. Hope you’re getting through your final work of the year without too much stress. Take care ^_~

  3. nevaeh_sent May 10, 2003 at 11:06 am #

    WHERE ARE YOU?!?!?!?!
    IT’S LIKE YOU HAVE FALLEN OFF THE FACE OF THE EARTH!!!

Leave a Reply

