Revolutions

10 Nov

asato ma sad gamaya
tamaso ma jyotir gamaya
mrtyor mamrtam gamaya

When the chorus enters the score for Matrix Revolutions, during the climax (and prominently in the credits) they are singing in sandskrit, sections from the Upanishads. When I saw the film with Shaye (and Sarah and Josh and Lauren and Kirawen and Jane, in no particular order) she turned to me as the credits started, and translated for me:

From unreal lead me to real
From darkness lead me to light
From death lead me to immortality

Just thot I’d throw that up here, as it makes it a more interesting film, for me at least. I’m not going to say anything else about it yet because you all should go see it at least once for yourselves, and I’m going to see it again tonight before really writing anything concrete about it. Except for this: Ignore the bad reviews of it. Those people are just wrong. Or something. I suppose that it is a matter of opinion, but still… No movie has made me feel so much, or drawn me in so much, in a very long time. It was refreshing and seemingly original (tho, this is of course an illusion). Also played during the credits, near the end:

Shanti Shanti Shanti Shanti Shanti Om*

*“Shanti” means peace.

P.S. Does anyone know what “navras” means??

One Response to “Revolutions”

  1. chesire_smile November 10, 2003 at 7:43 pm #

    Woah. Shaye speaks Sanskrit?! Rock!

Leave a Reply

