Room 2.5 or maybe 3.0

23 Mar

        Well, that was fun. I woke up and completely rearranged my room, pausing only to go to class. Class was good too, as frustrating as animation is, it wasn’t so bad today. It’s nice to not dread classes, since one has to go to them anyways.
        On an unrelated note, I had a brief conversation yesterday with Carl and Vanessa about voting, and since I have just now come up with the response I should have said at the time, I figured I would post it. Grrrr. Not that Carl or Vanessa read my lj. Anyways, we were watching the Daily Show election special thing, which was basically just clips of the (mostly former) candidates and Jon Stewart making fun of them, and I was of course asked who I was going to vote for. “Not likely,” says I, and ultimately we get into “if you voted for either Gore or Nader last time, you also support Bush, since by voting, you express trust in the system that elected him.” I don’t like the system, I don’t think it can get worse than it is, or any better than it has been in the past, and so I don’t support it by voting. Everyone seems to disagree with me, and throws out the “if you don’t vote, those who do support the system and like people like Bush will put him in office again” arguement. Perhaps. Who am I to say a world with leadership like that isn’t right for some people? I don’t have to support it, and as long as it isn’t imposed on me, they are free to crash and burn with the system. And it will crash and burn. It’s in freefall, it’s not flying. It’s always just been in freefall, and while technically that means airborn, it’s never actually done what it’s concievers and creators wanted it to do.
        ”So you do nothing??” “Why don’t you go to Canada?”
        Well, aside from the fact that, Canada is nice, and I have thot about going there… I’m not doing nothing. I’m not voting, but does that mean I’m doing nothing? So what am I doing? This is the point in the conversation at which I had no immediate response. I had a sense of the answer… but I couldn’t explain what I am doing in words. Fortunately the commercials ended and the show came back and I was off the hook.
        So what am I doing if I’m not voting and don’t support the system and am perfectly content to let it take everything to hell with it in it’s final gnashing of teeth and fight for existence?
        I am thinking and living as much as possible as if my world were the world I truly do want to live in. As much as I can, I am living as if the world were ideal. Maybe that seems like nothing. But I dare you to try it. It’s hard. And it is powerful. Belief and hope and creative imaginings of change are the only things that have ever actually caused change to happen. Not voting – believing. So that’s what I am doing. And now I am stepping off my soapbox.

10 Responses to “Room 2.5 or maybe 3.0”

  1. chesire_smile March 23, 2004 at 2:25 pm #

    Bravo! I applaud you, as I don’t know if I would have the strength to do that.

    • junorhane March 23, 2004 at 7:58 pm #

      Thanks. I don’t know if you would have the strength either. But I believe you would.

  2. s0starryeyed March 23, 2004 at 3:32 pm #

    hi… i didn’t know you were thinking of going to canada. of course you’ll have to learn the metric system and how to play hockey and how to drink molson ice too. actually they have a higher voting percentage then we do. at least you believe or have hope.. i have no faith in the system. what’s worse, i don’t vote so i won’t get just duty!

    • junorhane March 23, 2004 at 8:07 pm #

      Well, I have thot about going to Canada, I’m not really thinking about it seriously.

      “at least you believe or have hope.. i have no faith in the system.”

      I’d say, having no faith in the system is the first step in having belief and hope for change.
      And jury duty isn’t that bad, as it seems it’s easy to not actually get onto a panel by just convincing them you are biased. That’s what happened for me anyways.

  3. kirawen March 23, 2004 at 11:21 pm #

    ::hugs:: AMEN, bro. I keep getting bitched at by everyone here for not voting, and they won’t accept my answer that I enjoy living in the world directly around me, like as in Weymouth and the people in Weymouth when I’m living there, or school and the people living THERE when I’m there, and of course the same for Athens. I can’t get my brain to care about something that isn’t directly there. It’s too abstract in my life. But they DO accept my answer that I was once in an activist group and have done things like send rice to Bush in protest… Maybe if they bug you, and you’ve done something like send rice, you can tell them that to get them to leave you alone…. If you *want* them to leave you alone, anyways. ^_^

    • junorhane March 24, 2004 at 11:31 am #

      The Creeping Fear
      Actually, I expect them to be quite bothered, and not leave me alone at all. Someone who doesn’t care about the system is the largest possible threat to it. That’s why there’s so much propaganda towards having everyone vote.

      • Anonymous March 29, 2004 at 4:57 pm #

        Re: The Creeping Fear
        So…how do you know that I don’t read your live journal?
        Maybe I do.
        ; p

      • Anonymous March 29, 2004 at 5:00 pm #

        Re: The Creeping Fear
        And to clear the record, I never said that you should go to Canada.

      • junorhane March 29, 2004 at 9:22 pm #

        Re: The Creeping Fear
        Someone said it. Obviously, it was someone who doesn’t read my lj.

Leave a Reply

