Wanna waste a lot of time watching movie trailers? Bored?

26 Jul

         You should start with this. And bring a towel.

         Well, at least there’s good stuff coming to theaters, even if it isn’t here yet.
         The Village is a tossup. Despite the name being stolen from the school my family wants to start, it is written and directed by M. Night Shyamalan. The Sixth Sense and Unbreakable are excellent films, tho not for everyone. Signs was… enjoyable. There has been negative buzz on the internet regarding the script for this, but Shyamalan insists that it was never leaked, and that if it was leaked, it was a rough draft and that the last 15 pages of the script most certainly didn’t leak. Regardless, I hope that the creatures in the woods don’t turn out to be what I think they are. Anyway, Shymalan has certainly proven he has talent as a writer, director, and storyteller in general. At least worth a look.
         Sky Captain. Yeah, it looks like it’s a cheesy story, and it looks like the cg is, well, inconsistent. When you film an entire movie against greenscreen, with no sets at all, and are thus required to hire every visual effects company in the country, inconsistent results seem inevitable. Anyways, check out the exclusive clip too. Since it won’t come out until september, I can wait to pay only $5 to see it. Cool. Plus, I have a t-shirt stating that I was on the official vfx crew for the show. And I know people who’s names will be in the credits.
         Saved! looks hilarious. Apparantly it’s been out in theaters already, but, not around here, and I haven’t gotten to see it. Looks great tho.
         Let’s talk about sex. Rhea already wants to see this, after hearing about it at sex conferences. Gods and Monsters was a really good film, and with the director of that behind this, I have high hopes.
         So, i’m really glad Fahrenheit 9/11 got made and released and as much attention as it did. I’m glad a lot of people saw it. I’m glad many still are. I wish The Corporation would get the same treatment. Mainly because I want to see it. And because it is obviously as “important” for everyone to see as Michael Moore’s film.
         I want to find Neverland!!! And Johnny Depp is great. That is all. Tessa is going to love this.
         Pixar. Brad Bird. Samuel L. Jackson. I need say no more. This looks brilliant. Incredible even. (Sorry, had to be said.)“Where is my super suit?”
         Lemony Snicket? Jim Carrey is good. I haven’t read the books, but Vanessa says they are great, and the trailer makes it look cool. And it uses Edward Scissorhands music, which is good too.
         Garden State. Don’t know much about it. It’s this guys personal project. It’s a romantic comedy. Could be just like any other romantic comedy, but it looks like it was made with cinema in mind. Plus Natalie Portman looks gorgeous in it. That’s always a plus.
         So, that’s enuff for now methinks. I hope you enjoyed this look into the cinematic anticipatory mind of me. I certainly did. Plus I’m tired and didn’t feel like writing anything else.

8 Responses to “Wanna waste a lot of time watching movie trailers? Bored?”

  1. s0starryeyed July 26, 2004 at 10:33 pm #

    i can’t wait to see the village. i saw unbreakable the other day and loved it, and liked 6th sense and signs. i’m just scared that if i see the village i’l never wanna go into teh woods again!
    i saw fahrenheit 911 again today (with my latest boy craze) (i didn’t see hte end hte 1st time) and thoght it was ok… the 1st half was way better than the 2nd half
    i can’t wait to see neverland, either! johnny looks so good in it. i saw a preview today for some movie about a guy who flies into the air on a deck chair attached to helium balloons and how he affects people’s lives. it looks good.
    this weekend i also saw bourne supremacy. good, but not as good at the 1st. i am, however, eager to see the 3rd installment in the series (i’m sure there will be one, esp. considering the success this one has had). Paycheck: bad movie. ben wasn’t right for the character. pointless sub-plots took away from the main theme(s).
    i luf n miss u bro… like whoa

    • s0starryeyed July 26, 2004 at 10:34 pm #

      ps sean broke his ankle and walks with a cane. he says “they call me mr. glass”. very funny. (from unbreakable)

    • s0starryeyed July 26, 2004 at 10:34 pm #

      i also have plans to see scarface with said boy craze. hehehe

      • junorhane July 27, 2004 at 1:33 pm #

        “boy craze” huh? You’ve always been boy crazy. Who’s the victim this time around. : )

    • junorhane July 27, 2004 at 1:32 pm #

      yeah, I’m there with you for the whole loving and missing you thing. Like whoa.
      And I totally think that the second part of F9/11, that deals with Iraq, and then with war in general, is the stronger better part.

  2. sylness July 27, 2004 at 12:00 am #

    Dude, Saved’s been out since like early June, I’m tellin you.

    • junorhane July 27, 2004 at 1:34 pm #

      Maybe it’s been out in Alyssa-Land since early June. But there’s nothing but standard Hollywood big studio fare out here. Except for F9/11, but I already saw that. (Plus I think it’s gone now anyways… to make room for Spidey and I, Robot.)

  3. youngjedi August 12, 2004 at 12:59 pm #

    Is Garden State the one I saw the cool preview for with Eternal Sunshine? If so, cool! When does that come out?
    And you missed Hero. Whoo hoo!!! I’m on pins ‘n needles with anticipation. It looks gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

