Bush VS. Kerry?

4 Oct

   &nbsp  

Debate: – 1. To engage in argument by discussing opposing points. 2. To engage in a formal discussion or argument.

   &nbsp  One of the rules for the recent “debate” was: “Candidates may not direct a question to each other.”

JIM: the single most serious threat [to the world] you believe, both of you believe, is nuclear proliferation?

BUSH: In the hands of a terrorist enemy.

KERRY: Weapons of mass destruction, nuclear proliferation.
***
KERRY: I believe in being strong and resolute and determined. And I will hunt down and kill the terrorists, wherever they are.

BUSH: But, again, I want to tell the American people, we’re doing everything we can at home, but you better have a president who chases these terrorists down and bring them to justice before they hurt us again.

KERRY: Yes, we have to be steadfast and resolved, and I am. And I will succeed for those troops, now that we’re there. We have to succeed. We can’t leave a failed Iraq.

BUSH: The biggest disaster that could happen is that we not succeed in Iraq. We will succeed. We’ve got a plan to do so.

KERRY: I’ve had one position, one consistent position, that Saddam Hussein was a threat. … I will never let those troops down, and will hunt and kill the terrorists wherever they are.

BUSH: And Saddam Hussein was a threat, and that we must spread liberty because in the long run, the way to defeat hatred and tyranny and oppression is to spread freedom. … The Iraqis are ready to fight for their own freedom. They just need the help to be trained.

KERRY: But that’s how we’re going to win the peace, by rapidly training the Iraqis themselves. … I couldn’t agree more that the Iraqis want to be free and that they could be free.

BUSH: And that’s why it’s essential that we have strong alliances.

KERRY: I have a better plan to be able to fight the war on terror … by doing what we need to do to rebuild the alliances. I believe in protecting America first.

BUSH: We’ll continue to build our alliances. … And we’ll continue to spread freedom. I believe in the transformational power of liberty. I think that by speaking clearly and doing what we say and not sending mixed messages, it is less likely we’ll ever have to use troops. … So we use diplomacy every chance we get, believe me. And I would hope to never have to use force.

KERRY: I believe when we’re strongest when we reach out and lead the world and build strong alliances. … I believe America’s best days are ahead of us because I believe that the future belongs to freedom, not to fear.

BUSH: And, as well, we’re pursuing a strategy of freedom around the world, because I understand free nations will reject terror. Free nations will answer the hopes and aspirations of their people. Free nations will help us achieve the peace we all want.

KERRY: And I’m going to lead those troops to victory. … I believe that we have to win this. I believe President Bush and I both love our country equally. Thank you. And God bless America.

BUSH: And may God continue to bless our great land.

Leave a Reply

