An Update. For Carolyn.

13 Oct

        Despite what you may think, The Red Sox are going to win the world series. They were losing 8 to nothing, and didn’t have a single hit in six innings, and they still made it a close game. They’re not going to lose. That’s all that needs to be said about that.
        Alyssa, this is probably going to be one of those entries that’s, well, a little bit to long for you to read. I’m not sure why you can’t read long entries, but… we’re all praying for you to get thru this. Or something. Speaking of praying, I have to finish reading the Gospel According to Matthew for class tomorrow. And then I have to finish the third draft of The JC Story, which is coming along nicely, I have to say. It is my beloved. With it I am well pleased.
        And now comes the controversial part of the update, where I talk about voting and the debates and the election, and where, therefore, people start to dislike me, or at least my opinions. People except for Alyssa of course, who probably saw the length of this entry and decided to skip over it. I suppose I could have said something about Star Wars in the first sentence too, to achieve the same result. But I digress.
        Can the debates please stop soon!! They are really, um… boring? Similar? They say the same things over and over again, regardless of the questions. Asked about how he’s going to maintain enuff people for the War On Terror with an All-volunteer army, Bush responds by saying that he won’t institute the draft. Hello? That doesn’t answer the question! He didn’t answer the question, he raised it!!! You could go thru the debates and edit out just the clips where one candidate says that the other is wrong, or is innacurate and it would last far too long. You could go thru all the debates and edit out anytime something is said more than once, and I wouldn’t be surprised if you’re left with less than 90 minutes. Am I the only one who sees that Bush and Kerry are similar enuff that it ultimately doesn’t matter which one is elected??? No wonder people can’t decide who to vote for… it’s kinda hard to tell them apart. Yes, I know, there are differences, and there will be little changes in some of our lives depending on who wins, but really, ultimately, it doesn’t matter.
        Walk away folks. Let it crash. Let it consume itself. Live differently. But no, I know that’s not the way people work. They think, “well, our System (call it “Democracy”) didn’t really work these last four years, but if we do more of it this year, it will start to work.” Right. Sure it will. Newsflash: It is working – it’s surviving. That’s why it got Bush elected. He’s simple minded and yet powerful enuff (within the system) to keep it going. That’s why the system will likely get him elected again. You’re all pawns, you silly voters! You have no power!! It’s all an illusion, an element of control!!! Er… um… yeah… maybe I should go to bed now. To get at least a semblance of sleep before the lynch mob comes for me. “Oh no, he’s telling people to think differently! Nobody should be doing that!” If too many people start doing that, people might start catching on, and realizing that there really is an alternative to the System!”
         Eh, what the bleep do we know, right? We can’t really change reality just by thinking we can… can we??
        I say we can. Prove me wrong.

6 Responses to “An Update. For Carolyn.”

  1. kirawen October 13, 2004 at 6:51 am #

    Haha, you’re not the only one, hon! I keep pissing people off by telling them I can’t vote because there IS no lesser evil. I also think they’re the same in essence, and that they’d reach the same conclusions even if they did take different (in appearance, anyways) roads. Erg. Why can’t Abe Lincoln come back from the dead and run? I’d vote for him! Problem is, if he came back today he’d probably get shot down (pun not intended, but my tired brain refuses to think of a different way of saying that) by assholes for being a nice guy before even making it to the debates, let alone the elections >.<

    • chesire_smile October 13, 2004 at 8:35 am #

      Actually…….*puts her know-it-all glasses on* Abe Lincoln was one of the least-liked presidents when he was first elected. He, like Kerry, was called a flip-flopper–or would have been had that term been around then.
      So, we can hope that there will be a positive, surprising change, but I for one am not holding my breath. Nor am I voting, but I don’t tell people that. I have enough stress and drama in my life as it is, thank you very much.

      • junorhane October 13, 2004 at 7:39 pm #

        That’s actually one of my ideas is that I’d like to go back thru all the debate transcripts, take the questions asked of the candidates, and compose an answer that the one I would vote for would give. Who would be the perfect president?

  2. peregrineflcn October 13, 2004 at 11:09 am #

    Juno, really, sometimes it is hard to keep reading these long updates. You write novels! And yes, the debates are old because the candidates just spit back the same answers…but come on, admit it…the entertainment value is priceless. I mean, Bush said “that answer almost made me scowl” in the last debate. I am so excited for tonight.

    • peregrineflcn October 13, 2004 at 11:12 am #

      I can’t believe none of you people are voting.

      • junorhane October 13, 2004 at 3:17 pm #

        Actually, I can’t believe that so many people are voting, and that so many people think it’s so important…

Leave a Reply

