Wandering Announcement

18 Jul

Yesterday, in the midst of printing out the current draft of our charter school grant proposal (potentially worth $200,000), my computer freezes. Literally right in the middle of printing out a page, everything stops. No error message, no more printer working, no more cursor, no more keyboard, no more anything. Completely frozen.
So I shut it down.
And then I wait a few minutes, and turn it back on again. And it all seems fine, so I print out the charter school grant proposal, use up the last of my ink, and go give the draft to Zoe for editing. When I come back, my computer is frozen again.
So I shut it down.
And then I wait a few minutes, and turn it back on again. Lather, rinse, repeat. All in all, this happens about ten times yesterday. One time it didn’t even finish starting up all the way before I had to try again. I managed to back up everything before it froze again.
So I shut it down.
And then I left it off all night. In the morning, it was (predictably) still off. But it was also really, really, really hot. Almost too hot to touch – after being (or at least appearing to be) off.
So I unplugged it.
After 40 minutes or so it cooled down a little bit, and I turned it on and it seemed to be fine. So I brought it to the Apple Store, which is sadly an hour away (like everything else). The “genius” ran some software tests which found some problems and fixed them, and ran a hardware test, which didn’t find any problems. So he says it’s all good, and I don’t believe him, and restart my computer. And it freezes. Before it can start up again.
So I shut it down.
And it started to get really really hot again, so the “genius” unplugs it, takes the battery out, and puts my computer in a box to be shipped out. Apparently it needs a new logic board. Or something.
And so the inevitable (and possibly unfulfilling) end of the story is just that I’m getting my computer fixed for free, and won’t have it for at least a week or so.
In other words, yes, this entire post is just to say that I probably won’t be online, or updating any of the several online places that I frequent, for a week or so.
Don’t miss me too much.
Or do.

One Response to “Wandering Announcement”

  1. s0starryeyed July 20, 2006 at 3:34 am #

    i do miss you. arn’t i a rebel for not listening to you!?

Leave a Reply

