I want them to see me naked

6 Jun

“I swim naked at the waterfront in part because I want them to see me naked, I want these boys to look at me and see a healthy, attractive female body and see that I’m not ashamed and that it’s just a body.” and with that proclamation, Anna earned profound respect and perhaps a fair amount of awe.
I’m paraphrasing of course, since she said this during staff week (before the campers arrive) in my last summer on staff (2003?) at Timberlake, so I’m sure I don’t remember the exact wording. I remember the message (if not the words) of what she said because it made me so thankful that she was there and that she had said it. (As you know if you’re a regular reader, I feel somewhat strongly about Fifth Freedom.)

But it occurs to me today that her statement is a sign that Fifth Freedom is just not “working” the way it used to when I was a 9 and 10 year old camper. If she had said, instead, “I swim naked at the waterfront because they don’t see me when I do.” that would have made perfect sense. In other words, being naked at the TL waterfront (or anywhere else at TL) shouldn’t be noticeable. It should be something that you could notice (like the fact that your heart is beating) if you paid attention to it, but not something that really warrents too much attention (like the fact that your heart is beating).

Since it was more noticeable when someone had a suit on when I was there, the message of “bodies are healthy, normal, and something to be proud of (or at least not ashamed of)” was much stronger and easier to understand, even to a 9 year-old boy shocked at the site of a sea of bodies.

One Response to “I want them to see me naked”

  1. Anonymous June 9, 2007 at 7:09 pm #

    i never heard her say that. so well said.
    -Dan

Leave a Reply

