Summary

22 Sep

I think the biggest problem is that with what I want to do, the kind of movies I want to make, collaboration is required. But there are no nearby collaborators in my life.

3 Responses to “Summary”

  1. motherofjedi September 24, 2007 at 3:38 pm #

    okay, how about distant collaborators then? //^_^\\ seriously, what are you really missing here? many elements of collaboration do not require local or in-person contact, and CA likely has a greater percentage of movie-making people than other areas of the country. so what is hidden within the phrase “nearby collaborators” that’s trying to be expressed?

    • junorhane September 26, 2007 at 5:19 pm #

      Well, specifically by “local” I mean in Napa, or within 30 minutes of driving. CA has a lot of movie-making people (I hear) but it’s mostly focused around LA and a bit around SF. SF is “close” but not really a great place to commute to from Napa. It takes an hour of driving (one way) plus at least $4 for a toll and whatever I end up paying for parking. I could drive to Richmond and take the Bart in, but while that solves the parking problem it still costs about the same and takes twice as long, which means commuting that way would take about 4 hours every day. So that’s not local. Certainly doable every now and then, but not local.
      Yes, distant collaborators can be helpful for writing and critiquing (and some are) but I think that’s what initially spawned this post. I was frustrated with my writing for Emily’s Deathcast (an internet TV show) because the idea was at first that it would be easy to do with just one or two people, but it’s grown far beyond that and now I don’t have any idea how it will actually get made. I don’t know people to be on a crew, I don’t know people to perform in front of the camera, I don’t know people to help set up lights, do sound, etc… and I can’t afford to hire people.
      And all that just stopped my writing, which is too bad, because I think the show was/is shaping up pretty well… on paper.

      • motherofjedi September 27, 2007 at 2:09 pm #

        ah, so you discovered that thoughts about the future paralyzed you in the present. happens to people all the time. one of the advantages of practicing being in the moment is that you learn to focus on and keep working at what’s in front of you without attachment to what may, or may not, happen in the future. I think that’s a definition of passion, really, that ability to be so wrapped up in the moment of now, in the action of now, that you are not influenced by past or present. can you be passionate about your writing, about this project?

Leave a Reply

