Endorsement

3 Nov

I voted.

If you’ve known me for a while, you know that’s unusual. So why did I vote? I didn’t vote because there’s a candidate I fully agree with (don’t know that there ever will be… unless it’s me). I didn’t vote because I think my vote will count any more than it would have in the previous elections. There’s no candidate who is as strong on education as I’d prefer. There’s no candidate who really has a good health care plan. So why did I vote? I voted because there’s a candidate that I would like to see in the white house.

The world is, oh, let’s say going through a tough time right now. Whoever becomes the next president is going to have their hands full doing a job that I can’t really understand anyone wanting. America, and more importantly humanity as a whole, will be better off if the next president has a more nuanced (realistic) view of things than the current one. Things are more complex than good free people (America) and bad terrorists. Everything is connected. The climate crisis affects foreign policy, which affects the economy, which affects education, etc. The president (who ultimately doesn’t have that much power unless he (or she) can work with people who disagree with each other and get them to agree on policies that they actually implement) is going to have to inspire cooperation on a massive and complex scale. He (or she) is going to have to inspire not only politicians to do this, but the rest of us as well.

Ignoring things that don’t exist (like race or presidential experience) and looking at what’s real, like how well a long campaign has been run, how humane a candidate seems, how his (or her) inspired followers behave, how many inspired followers he or she has… it seems to me that there’s only one good choice. Barack Obama has been consistently even tempered, consistently eloquent (mostly… we’ll forget about some boring debates), and (I think this is the most significant thing) consistently inspiring. He has gotten more people like me, people who didn’t care about politics, people who think the government is a shambles, people who think their vote doesn’t really count, people who used to not vote, to care. He’s gotten us to care and to vote. He’s gotten people to hope that despite the state of the world, we can work to make it better. He’s gotten me to hope that he can actually take this job and work with people who vehemently disagree with him, and people who fear him, and get something positive done in cooperation with those people.

I don’t know if Barack Obama can actually do that or not, but I think it’s worth finding out. Also, and this is unconfirmed hearsay (I’m colorblind, so I can’t really tell) but he’s apparently “black.” If true, this is not relevant to anything.

2 Responses to “Endorsement”

  1. motherofjedi November 4, 2008 at 4:30 pm #

    but what’s really important, you know, is that the newest edition of Star Wars Insider features the Star Wars lunchboxes I have hidden in an attic somewhere… //^_^\\
    *apologizes for hijacking your journal and runs away*

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Politics 2012 « The Juno Blog - July 8, 2012

    […] I’m sure The Juno Blog has, you know that I used to post articles about politics.  I even endorsed our current […]

Leave a Reply

