Academy Awards

22 Feb

It’s come to my attention that tonight is the Academy Awards. In years past this would have been significant. In this year? Not so much. I haven’t been able to keep up with movies, so I don’t know if they nominated the right ones, and I haven’t seen the ones they did nominate. (Except for Wall-E, which they should have had the courage to nominate for Best Picture, and not just relegate it to Best Animated Picture.)

In fact, in a lot of ways it just feels like more of the same. They haven’t gotten Best Picture right since American Beauty, and even the Visual Effects category seems boring this year. Still, I’ll probably watch just to glimpse footage of the ones I haven’t seen yet.

Speaking of movies I haven’t seen yet, I’d really like to see Coraline in a 3D theater. I imagine the experience is something like being shrunken down and allowed to walk around in and explore a miniature hand-built world. Probably there’s a story too.

Leave a Reply

