Time

1 Jan

So I was catching up with “My So-Called Life” on hulu (what a great opening, huh? Reminds me of “I was just sitting in the U-bend thinking about death”) and the main character (15 in 1994, which makes her thirty now) said something about how all of the older generation knew exactly where they were when Kennedy was shot but my generation has nothing like that. She kind of wished that there were something like that to unite us, or something. (She’s not the most eloquent of confused high-school girl characters.)

But I remember that precise growing-up-in-the-nineties feeling.

Dave Barry wrote about it too, about how his younger nephew (or something) once told him that he wished there would be another world war so that something would be going on during his lifetime. Something interesting. Something involving. Something on a worldwide scale to be a part of.

This is all, of course, before 9-11 happened and we can all say exactly where we were when it happened. It’s not really what I wanted from a generation-unifying worldwide event, but it’s what we got.

Here’s hoping to much more positive one in the coming year and/or decade.

2 Responses to “Time”

  1. tinycaredance January 10, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    major thumbs up to finding My so called life on hulu. thanks bunches. it will now be my new addiction.

    • junorhane January 10, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

      I know! It’s such a brilliant show. The last few days I was in CA I just had a marathon. Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

